Description: Monument Approximately 50 Metres South West of the Stoneythorpe Hotel
Date Listed: 27 October 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 307213
OS Grid Reference: SP4155161598
OS Grid Coordinates: 441551, 261598
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2510, -1.3928
Explore more of the area around Southam, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
SOUTHAM WARWICK ROAD
SP4161 (North side)
13/83 Monument approx. 50m. SW of
The Stoneythorpe Hotel
Monument. Late C19. Limestone on granite plinth with moulded base and cornice
surmounted by urn. Inscribed to front: 'THIS STONE/MARKS THE SITE OF
THE/DISPENSARY COTTAGE/USED FOR THE PURPOSES OF THE FIRST SELF SUPPORTING
OR/PROVIDENT DISPENSARY/IN THE KINGDON/ESTABLISHED HERE BY/MR. H.L. SMITH,/IN
THE YEAR 1822/UPON THE FLAN AFTERWARDS/SUCCESSFULLY/ADOPTED AT/COVENTRY,
NORTHAMPTON/AND MANY OTHER PLACES'. History: the Dispensary, which this stone
commemorates, was established in a C17/C18 thatched cottage by Dr. Henry Lilley
Smith, the founder of the former Eye and Ear Infirmary, now The Stoneythorpe
Hotel (q.v.). The stone was erected in 1889 by Rev. William Smith, son of the
Dispensary founder. Included for group value.
Listing NGR: SP4155161598
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.