Description: Okens House
Date Listed: 10 January 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 307412
OS Grid Reference: SP2828064804
OS Grid Coordinates: 428280, 264804
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2807, -1.5869
Explore more of the area around Warwick, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
1781 CASTLE STREET
No 20 (Oken's
SP 2864 NW 1/6 10.1.53.
Late C15 important timber-framed house (historical associations). Long
inscription on gable end facing up the street states that Thomas Oken,
who was a wealthy mercer of the town (died 1573), gave this house for charitable
purposes --- it was restored in 1864. This gabled end is jettied at first
floor and has a certain amount of heavy curved timber framing which is
original. Practically all of remainder of external framing and infilling
appears to date from C19 but the character of the building has been
preserved. East elevation has two identical flush gables C19 barge
boards and finials. Roof of old tiles. ? interior. Now houses the Warwick
Doll Museum. Thomas Oken, mercer, was the last Warden of the Guild of
the Holy Trinity and Saint Mary and one of the first burgesses of the town
of Warwick, incorporated 1545. VCH, viii, p.426.
Nos 10, 12, 16 and 20 form a group.
Listing NGR: SP2828064804
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.