Description: Barford Lodge
Date Listed: 26 April 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 307913
OS Grid Reference: SP2735860903
OS Grid Coordinates: 427358, 260903
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2456, -1.6007
Explore more of the area around Barford, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
BARFORD Church Lane
No 17 (Barford Lodge)
Lodge, formerly Longbridge Toll House on the Warwick to Stratford Turnpike.
1843 by D G Squirehill of Leamington for the Turnpike Trust. Moved in 1872 to
the present site as a lodge for Watchbury House. Brick, faced with painted
render and elaborate mock decorative pattern timber framing in early C17 West
Midlands style. Steeply pitched clay tile roof. All gables have pierced
bargeboards and moulded pendants. Single storey, F-shaped plan of which the
north gabled cross wing may be an addition of 1872. Gabled porch on east front
with roof supported by two miniature Ionic columns carried on the backs of
reclining lions. Two-light casement windows, each casement with a semicircular
head, and set in timber surrounds with pilasters and relief carving in the
spandrels. Two rendered brick chimney stacks each with two polygonal shafts.
Listing NGR: SP2735860903
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.