Description: Tachbrook Mallory House (Eastern 2/3)
Date Listed: 11 April 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 307986
OS Grid Reference: SP3187762167
OS Grid Coordinates: 431877, 262167
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2568, -1.5344
Explore more of the area around Bishop's Tachbrook, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
BISHOPS TACHBROOK Tachbrook Mallory
16/119 Tachbrook Mallory House
(eastern 2/3) and The
Grove (formerly included
11.4.67 as The Grove)
Large house. Dated 1570 and 1609, with small C20 additions. Painted roughcast
render. Chamfered stone plinth. Steeply pitched plain tile roofs with gabled
ends. Two storeys and attics. Plan composed of 1570 cross range facing east
and gabled ends, and two long ranges extending west from north and south (these
ranges 1570 at eastern ends but extended 1609). Between the ends of these two
ranges modern infill block. A short gabled wing to the north of the north
range. East elevation: centrally placed modern door with modern gabled porch.
To left and right sash windows with glazing bars. At first floor three 4-light
cross mullion/transom casements. North elevation: three gabled bays, that to
right is post-1609 addition. Bays to left and middle have sash windows with
glazing bars to ground and first floors, and two-light casements to attic. Nail
studded door with Tudor moulded oak doorcase to middle bay. Later projecting
bay to right has at ground floor 10-light cross mullion/transom casements,
six-light at first floor, and two-light casements at attic. Square chimney
stacks with diagonally placed red brick shafts. Roofs of C17 purlin type.
Interior: fine late C16 and early C17 interiors to Tachbrook Mallory House.
Entrance hall behind nail-studded door on north elevation lined with Tudor oak
panelling and chimneypiece. Behind entrance hall a good staircase of c.1630
with panelled newels and ball heads and turned balusters. Tudor fireplaces
back to back in the four rooms of the eastern range. Oak panelling to two
rooms on first floor.
Listing NGR: SP3187762167
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.