Description: Lock Cottage Approximately 5 Metres North East of Lowsonford Bridge
Date Listed: 30 November 1982
English Heritage Building ID: 308365
OS Grid Reference: SP1885367770
OS Grid Coordinates: 418853, 267770
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3077, -1.7249
Explore more of the area around Rowington, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
ROWINGTON NEW ROAD
SP16NE (North side)
3/101 Lock Cottage approx. 5m NE of
30/11/82 Lowsonford Bridge
(Formerly listed as Lock
Cottage NE of Lowsonford
Lock keeper's cottage. Circa 1816 for the Stratford-on-Avon Canal. Painted
brick; asphalt-covered brick barrel-vault roof with segmental parapeted gable
ends; brick ridge stack to left of centre. Single-storey, 3-window range.
3-light casement to left. 3-light wood mullion and transom window to centre.
2-light casement to right. Left return: plank door to right. C19 metal casement
to centre,,of 2 rows of 5 lights. Interior not inspected. Single-storey outbuilding
extension adjoining to rear with,tiled gable-ended roof. History: one of
six lock-keepers cottages on the Stratford-on-Avon Canal. The Stratford-on-Avon
Canal was started in 1793 and opened in 1816. The roof was built using form-work
similar to that used for canal bridges.
Listing NGR: SP1885367770
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.