Description: Inner Precinct Wall Approximately 100 Metres West of Priory Farmhouse
Date Listed: 8 September 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 309014
OS Grid Reference: SP2340286795
OS Grid Coordinates: 423402, 286795
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4786, -1.6569
Explore more of the area around Maxstoke, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
MAXSTOKE CHURCH ROAD
SP2386 (South side)
17/109 Inner precinct wall approx.
08/09/61 100m W of Priory Farmhouse
(Formerly listed as Remains of
tower and walls of monastic
Inner precinct wall and part of west claustral range. Irregularly coursed
sandstone. Wall contains remains of doorways including 2-centred chamfered
archways and ogee arches. The wall at the north end forms part of the former
granary and mill house. Originally part of the inner precinct wall to the priory
of Augustinian Canons founded in 1336 by William de Clinton, Earl of Huntingdon
and consecrated in 1342. Scheduled ancient monument.
(VCH: Warwickshire, Vol IV; Buildings of England: Warwickshire: p349)
Listing NGR: SP2340286795
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.