Description: West Wall of Former Infirmary, Approximately 150 Metres South of Priory Farmhouse
Date Listed: 8 September 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 309015
OS Grid Reference: SP2348086776
OS Grid Coordinates: 423480, 286776
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4784, -1.6557
Explore more of the area around Maxstoke, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
MAXSTOKE CHURCH ROAD
SP2386 (South side)
17/110 West wall of former infirmary,
08/09/61 approx. 150m S of Priory
(Formerly listed as Remains of
Tower and walls of monastic
West wall of former infirmary. Early C14. Coursed and squared sandstone. Gable
roof was continued over aisles. 2 storeys. First floor with window of 2 lights
in 2-centred arch with fragments of reticulated tracery. At ground floor a
doorway in 2-centred chamfered arch and a smaller doorway in an arch of 3
straight sides. Originally part of the infirmary, north-east of the priory
church, to the priory of Augustinian Canons founded in 1336 by William de
Clinton, Earl of Huntingdon and consecrated in 1342. Scheduled ancient monument.
(VCH: Warwickshire, Vol IV; Buildings of England: Warwickshire: p349)
Listing NGR: SP2348086776
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.