Description: Manor House
Date Listed: 17 January 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 317947
OS Grid Reference: SU0963187195
OS Grid Coordinates: 409631, 187195
Latitude/Longitude: 51.5835, -1.8624
SU 08 NE PURTON CHURCH END
8/299 Manor House
(formerly listed as Manor House
17.1.58 together with Tithe Barn and
Manor House, late C16 and 1682. Altered c.1900. Limestone rubble
with ashlar quoins and dressings. Stone slate roofs. Two storeys
and attics. Five-bays. Central cross passage to lateral hall on
right, stair at upper end, rear. Wings developed on bays 1 and 5
to rear. Central 2 storey porch with round torus moulded arch.
Inner door C19. Heavy string course and eaves corbel table. Flat
roof and low parapet. Four-light ovolo moulded windows to main
block under continuous string course to ground floor, label
mouldings to upper floors. Central and end bays raised as gables
with coped apex and 3-light mullioned windows. Large external
stacks at ends with 4 brick diagonal shafts to left end, 3 to right
and 4 other brick stacks, all lowered c.1900. Stair protrudes as
tower to rear and C19-C20 extensions. End gable porch on right
with date 1682 and Sun Insurance mark, No 425563.
Interior: altered c.1900 and recently modernised.
The property originally belonged to Malmesbury Abbey until the
Dissolution, then passed through Bennet and Jay families until
rebuilt by Lord Chandos in late C16. An imposing building in a
picturesque setting. (Elyard S.J. Some Old Wiltshire Homes, 1894).
Listing NGR: SU0963187195
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.