Description: Peat Store of Keldheads Lead Smelting Mill
Date Listed: 6 January 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 321807
OS Grid Reference: SE0779290972
OS Grid Coordinates: 407792, 490972
Latitude/Longitude: 54.3143, -1.8817
Explore more of the area around Preston-under-Scar, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 09 SE PRESTON-UNDER-SCAR KELDHEADS LANE
6/59 Peat Store of Keldheads
6/1/70 Lead Smelting Mill
(Formerly listed as Keldheads Mill
(former peat store))
Peat store, now hay barn. Mid C19. Rubble, corrugated sheet roof.
2 storeys, 4 bays. Quoins. On ground floor, 4 cart openings, with semi-
circular arches of rubble voussoirs. Plain openings above. The peat store
is the only substantially complete building of the Keldheads Lead Smelting
Mill, built c1840 and extended in 1855, which replaced an earlier mill near
Preston corn mill. In 1855 the smelting mill flue, now collapsed, was
extended to a length of about two miles, terminating near Cobscar Lead
Smelting Mill in the parish of Redmire (q.v.). The mill ceased to function
c1888. The Keldheads Mines were near Preston Mill, in the parish of Wensley
(q.v.). Arthur Raistrick, The Lead Industry of Wensleydale and Swaledale,
vol.2, "The Smelting Mills" (1975) pp. 101-4.
Listing NGR: SE0779290972
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.