Description: Former Coach House of Clervaux Castle
Date Listed: 29 January 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 322674
OS Grid Reference: NZ2705309024
OS Grid Coordinates: 427053, 509024
Latitude/Longitude: 54.4759, -1.5840
Explore more of the area around Croft-on-Tees, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
CROFT-ON-TEES JOLBY LANE
NZ 20 NE
(south side, off)
8/35 Former coach-house of
Coach-house, now garages and outbuildings. c1843. By Ignatius Bonomi and
John Augustus Cory for Sir William Chaytor. Sandstone rubble with ashlar
dressings, Westmorland slate roof. 3 and 2 storeys, 9 bays. North-east
elevation: quoins; carriageway to left of centre with timber lintel,
probably an alteration; on first floor, 9 slit vents treated as loop-holes
with ashlar quoined jambs; first bay rises as quoined tower with
battlemented parapet; other bays of 2 storeys with battlemented parapet
behind which falls monopitch roof. South-west side: concrete lintel to
carriageway, other former coach-house openings have timber lintels below
segmental relieving arches; some with board leaved garage doors; chamfered
ashlar slit vents to hayloft above, and shuttered pitching hole; quarter-
round corbels carry gutter; to right, tower has quoined doorway with leaved
doors, and ladder to hayloft; clock on top storey of tower. The building
was part of a neo-Romanesque mansion built 1842-3, and demolished in 1951.
The nearby stables have been converted into a bungalow. H Colvin,
A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects 1600-1840, (1978), p 123.
Listing NGR: NZ2705309024
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.