Description: The Temple
Date Listed: 1 August 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 322932
OS Grid Reference: NZ1671200737
OS Grid Coordinates: 416712, 500737
Latitude/Longitude: 54.4018, -1.7441
Explore more of the area around Richmond, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
1549 The Temple
NZ 1600 5/62 1.8.52.
Circa 1746. Otherwise known as the Culloden Tower, built to commemorate
that battle on the site of an earlier pole tower, of which the rectangular
base in rubble may be part. This now forms an undercroft, used as a barn,
with a cellar below. Above is a two-storeyed tower in ashlar, octagonal,
and joined to the rectangular base by broaches. Pointed windows to alternate
faces of the second storey and a blind arcade of three moulded pointed
arches to each face between the storeys, which are also divided by bands.
The top storey has alternate blind and windowed openings and a parapet
of a kind of strap-work with crocketed pinnacles at the angles. These
are mostly damaged, but otherwise the building is in a remarkably good
state of repair. A stair turret with a small domed cap is at the South-West
corner, ornamented similarly to the tower. The interior has two rooms,
one to each storey, with a wealth of moulded wood ornament combining Gothic
decoration with some classical details. The windows, and cupboards
corresponding with them in the blank walls between, have ogee crocketed
heads and labels, and the doorcases and fireplaces have panels of ornament
above with a similar finish. The mantelpieces, however, have friezes
and cornices, and a central mask, in elaborate carved wood. The dado-rails
are of key pattern, the skirting and frieze of moulded. The ceilings
are domed, with Gothic ribs with cusping. Entrance door has good stone
case with flat pilasters with acanthus capitals and a shaped pediment
with a cartouche of arms.
Listing NGR: NZ1671200737
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.