Description: Church of Holy Ascension
Date Listed: 13 September 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 324296
OS Grid Reference: SD8195163880
OS Grid Coordinates: 381951, 463880
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0705, -2.2773
Explore more of the area around Settle, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SETTLE CHURCH STREET
10/7 Church of Holy Ascension
Parish church, 1836-38 by Thomas Rickman in Early English style. Ashlar, slate
roof. Aligned N-S. South tower and adjoining vestry, 5 bay nave, 2 bay chancel
with projecting rectangular apse and side chapel on east. East front entrance
porch at base of tower has 2-light arch supported by engaged columns with crocket
capitals. Double wooden doors. 3 stage tower has rectangular chamfered windows
above porch and louvred belfry opening with pointed arch and thin hoodmould.
Embattled parapet, above which continues a 4 stage semi-octagonal stair turret to
1 ft with 8 hexagonal pillars supporting a spirelet and ball finial. 5 lancet
windows to nave and 2 to side chapel, all with thin hoodmoulds and trefoil stops.
Lights are separated by a stepped buttress with angle buttresses at junction with
east wall. Corbel table. North end: gabled with gabled apse having 4 lancet
windows as on east front and an octofoil rose window above. West wall 2 lancet
windows to chancel, 5 to nave and 1 to vestry with buttresses as on east front. To
left are steps down to machine pit for organ which was formerly powered by a stream
running under the chancel. Chimney stack for vestry on right. South end gabled
with 4 ground floor lancet windows and tall lancet in gable with cross at apex.
Round window to left tower and stair turret to right. Late single storey lean-to
for boiler. Interior: marble wall tablet in porch in memory of employees of
Midland Railway killed during the construction the Settle to Dent Head line
1869-76. Queen post roof with braces and trefoil decoration in spandrels, with
tie beams supported on moulded stone corbels. Marble inlay to apse, wrought iron
chancel screen, 1860s. Marble pulpit with surround on trefoil headed arches and
marble font raised on 4 pillars with crocket capitals, both 1867: South gallery
with date 1838 and painted panel with Royal arms of Victoria. In west nave wall is
stained glass window in the style of Burne-Jones. Source: W A Shuffrey.
The Churches of the Deanery of North Craven (1914), pp.205-214.
Listing NGR: SD8195163880
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.