Description: Boundary Stone at Sd 9525 5238
Date Listed: 31 October 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 324391
OS Grid Reference: SD9525052378
OS Grid Coordinates: 395250, 452378
Latitude/Longitude: 53.9675, -2.0739
Explore more of the area around Broughton, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SD 95 SE BROUGHTON
3/14 Boundary stone at
SD 9525 5238
Boundary stone, formerly dividing lands of Thomas, Earl of Thanet and
Stephen Tempest of Broughton Hall (qv), now dividing Stirton with
Thorlby and Broughton parishes. 1698, millstone grit rubble, c 62 cm
high. Number 24 in original series of 41. Inscribed T (Thanet) on
north side and ST (Stephen Tempest) on south side. Inscribed 24 (?) on
top. Part of this stone is in Stirton with Thorlby CP (qv).
Source: Broughton Hall Archives, Box One, bundle 9, Boundary Rolls
Stirton with Thorlby and Broughton, 1698-1757.
Listing NGR: SD9525052378
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.