Description: The Cottage
The Cottage Shop with Attached Barn
Date Listed: 10 September 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 324485
OS Grid Reference: SD9081450953
OS Grid Coordinates: 390814, 450953
Latitude/Longitude: 53.9546, -2.1415
Explore more of the area around Martons Both, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SD 95 SW MARTONS BOTH
2/106 The Cottage and
The Cottage Shop
with attached barn
10.9.54 (formerly listed as
Tempest Farm Cottages
House and cottage, now house and shop, with attached barn, 1698 and later. Rubble,
stone slate roof. Probably a 3-unit plan of which the left hand unit later became
a separate cottage, with 3-light recessed square mullion windows on each floor.
The remainder of the ground floor is unified by a continuous hoodmould which
lifts over the cable-moulded plaque lettered:
A A and date
Two double chamfered stone mullion windows of four lights, that to left lacking
two mullions. Segmental headed doorway. To first floor double chamfered stone
mullion windows of two, two and three lights, only the last retaining its mullions.
There is the shadow of a round-headed single light further left. Three stacks.
Barn is simple with straight-headed cart entry but a chamfered doorway in the
Listing NGR: SD9081450953
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.