Description: Angler's Cottage
Date Listed: 4 May 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 324641
OS Grid Reference: SD9747067791
OS Grid Coordinates: 397470, 467791
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1060, -2.0402
Explore more of the area around Conistone with Kilnsey, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SD 9767 CONISTONE WITH KILNSEY B6160
23/54 Angler's Cottage
Inn, now house and holiday cottage. 1768 with late C19 alterations.
Coursed limestone rubble, ashlar dressings, graduated stone slate roof.
Quoins. 2 storeys, 5 bays, symmetrical facade to left, the right hand 2
bays narrower. C20 door and plain overlight bay 2 in sawn stone surround,
a stone plaque above with a round-headed recess and letters in relief:
" 0 " , C20 door far right in chamfered quoined surround. To right of
the main entrance, bay 2, a blocked doorway has the letters "0" and "1754"
crudely incised on the right jamb. Fenestration: rectangular windows in
plain stone surrounds throughout, with C20 casements to ground foor bays 3
and 4, and 4-pane sashes elsewhere. Window to bay 4 ground floor is
smaller than those to 1st 3 bays and those to bays 4 and 5 are larger. End
stacks. Interior: the blocked front doorway has a fine built-in shelf
unit of mid-late C18 type, with shaped shelves and shell hood. The building
was the Angler's Inn, established in 1760 (Speight p.470) and the landlord
was John Inman. One Henry Ovington lived at the inn in 1797 when a meeting
of landowners took place to discuss the enclosure of the land in the area
(Baistrick p 54). In 1882 the licence was given up, the property then owned
by Mr. Tennant of Chapel House (q.v.),and the nearby Tennant Arms was
established. A. Raistrick, Old Yorkshire Dales, 1967. H. Speight,
Upper Wharfedale, 1903
Listing NGR: SD9747067791
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.