Description: Cam Cottage
Date Listed: 10 September 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 324705
OS Grid Reference: SD9540974838
OS Grid Coordinates: 395409, 474838
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1693, -2.0718
Explore more of the area around Kettlewell with Starbotton, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SD 97 SE KETTLEWELL WITH STARBOTTON OLD MAIN STREET
11/118 Cam Cottage and
2 Houses, formerly the main range of the Old Hall. Dated 1655 and 1677,
with C18 alterations and restoration c1920. For the Symondson family.
Limestone rubble, graduated stone slate roof. 2 storeys, 5 first-floor
windows; the 2 to the left belonging to Carn Cottage, the 3 to the right to
Wellside. Quoins. Carn Cottage: boarded outer double doors to right of
centre; deeply chamfered single block jambs and cambered doorhead with
lintel dated "LS 1655" in raised letters, remains of hood mould over. C20
small-pane windows throughout, 2 to the left of door and 1 to right, and to
first floor; all in plain stone surrounds apart from that to left of door
which has a reused recessed chamfered surround. Ridge stacks to left and
right of entrance. Interior not inspected at resurvey. Wellside: central
boarded outer double doors, glazed inner door; flanking flat-faced mullion
window of 3 stepped lights, square windows above, all with C20 small-pane
frames. Corniced ashlar stack right. A stone plaque at first floor level,
between the 2 houses, has a weathered inscription and the date "1677".
Rear: a glazed door right of centre in chamfered surround; random
fenestration, some reused chamfered surrounds. A stone sundial plaque
dated "1677" is set high up above the doorway. History: The Old Hall,
Starbotton was occupied by the Symondson family in the C17, Lister
Symondson being keeper of the deer at Buckden, in 1600. In the mid C17 the
house is said to have been used by Lady Ann Clifford (d.1670) as a resting
place during her journeys from Skipton Castle to her estates in
Westmorland. The 1655 date may record a new building, possibly by Lister
Symondson, but the 1677 date could record the construction of a large
chimney stack and other embellishments. The range appears to have been
divided into cottages c1800, and restoration was undertaken c1920.
Listing NGR: SD9540974838
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.