Description: Liverpool Warehouse
Date Listed: 10 September 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 324785
OS Grid Reference: SE0027264040
OS Grid Coordinates: 400272, 464040
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0723, -1.9973
Explore more of the area around Grassington, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
GRASSINGTON THE SQUARE
8/32 Nos. 7 and 8 (Liverpool
listed as the Cafe Royal.)
Warehouse and general stores, now 3 shops. Early C19, altered to a general
stores in 1848 for William Cockshott. Coursed gritstone rubble, graduated
stone slate roof. 3 storeys, 3-bay main block defined by projecting long
and short quoins; recessed bay to left. Shop entrance between bays 2 and 3
with plain stone surround and shallow triangular pediment, flanked by tall
4-pane sashes in plain stone surrounds, C20 shop frontage left. 1st floor:
four 4-pane sashes, the central pair set close together, similar
arrangements to smaller square casement windows to second floor. Stone
gutter brackets, shaped kneelers, gable copings, ashlar stack right.
Recessed bay left: C20 shop frontage, loading door, now window, to first
floor with square window above. Gutter brackets, kneeler, coping and end
stack as main block. The building was established as a general stores in
1848, a time when the population of Grassington was reaching a maximum as
the improvements in lead mining were completed. The former name,
"Liverpool Warehouse", reflects the source of much of the produce sold,
which was brought to Gargrave via the Leeds-Liverpool Canal which was
completed in 1816. S. Brooks , A History of Grassington, 1979, p53. A.
Raistrick, Old Yorkshire Dales, 1967, p147.
Listing NGR: SE0027264040
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.