Description: The Lodge
Date Listed: 11 December 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 325839
OS Grid Reference: SE6158232201
OS Grid Coordinates: 461582, 432201
Latitude/Longitude: 53.7825, -1.0669
Explore more of the area around Selby, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
1. (west side)
Nos 14 to 24 (even)
and The Lodge
(formerly listed as
SE 6132 SE 5/36 Nos 14-24 (even))
Probably built after 1839; when the Public Rooms (now The Museum Hall (qv))
were opened. Brown brick. Pitched slate roof. Two storeys. Bracketed wooden
eaves cornice. Continuous first floor sill. Seventeen bays. Sashes with
glazing bars and rusticated stucco voussoirs. No 14 has panelled door with oblong fanlight, in porch with panelled square columns taking entablature
with unusual triglyphs. Nos 16-24 have doors with semi-circular fanlights
in porches in antis, of which surrounds have a trellis pattern to spandrels,
and moulded cornices over: Nos 16 and 18, and 20 and 22 are paired. No 22
has all its first floor windows grouped together under one hood-mould. The
Lodge has twin-gabled front, entered from south side.
Listing NGR: SE6158232201
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.