Description: Monk Fryston Hall
Date Listed: 18 January 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 326102
OS Grid Reference: SE5061629855
OS Grid Coordinates: 450616, 429855
Latitude/Longitude: 53.7626, -1.2337
Explore more of the area around Monk Fryston, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
MONK FRYSTON MAIN STREET
SE 52 NW
4/46 Monk Fryston Hall
House, now hotel. C13 origins with additions and alterations of c1740 and
1897 and a further C20 range to left of no particular interest. For Selby
Abbey, with additions of c1740 for David Hemsworth and of 1897 by Sir Ernest
George ARA. Magnesian limestone with stone slate roof. L-shaped on plan
with reputedly C18 wing to right with C19 extension and infill of various
dates. Block of 2 storeys with attics and 4 bays to left with gable-ended
projecting 2-storey single bay range to right. Left block: buttress rises
to 2nd floor level. Plinth. Projecting full-height gabled outer bays.
C19 entrance to 3rd bay a 4-centred doorway. Outer bays have mullion and
transom windows. 6-light mullion windows to second bay. All under
hoodmoulds with mostly recut chamfered surrounds and mullions, that to
second bay in double-chamfered surround. First floor: outer bays have
similar mullion and transom windows. To second bay a 3-light mullion window
in double-chamfered surround and with chamfered mullions. To third bay a
lancet window in chamfered surround. Single lights in double-chamfered
surrounds to gables of bays, blocked to right. Gables have kneelers and
ashlar coping. Kneeler and ashlar coping to left. Wing to right: plinth.
2-storey canted bay has 5-light mullion and transom windows to each floor in
double-chamfered surround, that to ground floor under hoodmould. Blocked
single light in gable. Kneelers, coping and remains of finial. C19
diagonal ridge, end and rear stacks. Mainly similar mullion and transom
windows to rear. One C13 2-light mullion window in double-chamfered
surround to left gable. Interior remodelled after fire of 1876. Originally
the property of Selby Abbey, it was the home of the Master of Works and the
Agent of the Abbot supervising quarring of stone for the Abbey.
Listing NGR: SE5061629855
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.