Description: Coach House and Stables to Rear of Escrick Park to Rear Right
Date Listed: 10 April 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 326275
OS Grid Reference: SE6320842346
OS Grid Coordinates: 463208, 442346
Latitude/Longitude: 53.8735, -1.0401
Explore more of the area around Escrick, York at Explore Britain.
ESCRICK ESCRICK PARK ESTATE
SE 64 SW
2/19 Coach house and stables
adjoining Escrick Park to
GV II *
Coach house and stables, now school. 1763 with later additions and
alterations including those of mid-late C20. By John Carr for Beilby
Thompson. Pinkish-brown brick with red brick and ashlar dressings, cement
rendered to front facade, with Welsh slate roof. Square on plan around
central open courtyard. Two storeys, 9 bays of which the centre 3 project
slightly. Plinth. Entrance now to side (see below). Central entrance now
has 12-pane sash with radial glazing to head and plank infil to lower part,
set within recessed arch with moulded ashlar head. Similar recessed arches
to 2nd and 8th bays. Unequally-hung 15-pane sashes with radial glazing to
heads except to 9th bay which has a shallower, blind opening, all with
ashlar sills. Continuous impost band. Second storey has 6-pane sashes with
ashlar sills. Ashlar dentil cornice. Dentil pediment to centre bays
contains clock and is surmounted by ashlar peristyle of Doric columns on
plinth with domed lead roof. Hipped roof. Ridge and rear stacks. Returns
of single tall storey and 9 bays. Right return has elliptically-arched
entrance now with C20 glazed doors but retaining overlight with decorative
glazing bars. Otherwise tall arches with red rubbed brick to heads now with
C20 sashes within. Left return has 2 slightly-projecting pedimented bays.
York Georgian Society, The Works in Architecture of John Carr, 1973, p 11.
Pevsner N, Yorkshire, York and the East Riding, 1978, p 224.
Listing NGR: SE6320842346
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.