Description: The Red House
Date Listed: 11 December 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 326477
OS Grid Reference: SE5824622561
OS Grid Coordinates: 458246, 422561
Latitude/Longitude: 53.6963, -1.1193
Explore more of the area around Hensall, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
HENSALL CHURCH LANE
SE 52 SE
(west side, off)
3/4 The Red House
(formerly listed as The
Vicarage,now house. 1854 with later alterations. Architect, William
Butterfield; patron, 7th Viscount Downe; builder, Charles Ward of Lincoln.
Pinkish-red brick in English bond with grey tile roof. 2 storeys, 3 first-
floor windows with single-storey range to rear. Aesthetic Functionalism.
Off-centre entrance double plank doors with pointed overlight under pointed
arch. To right, small 4-pane sash, large tripartite window with 4-pane sash
a later insertion, and similar smaller window. All ground-floor openings
below header arches and pointed relieving arches. To left of first floor a
pointed tripartite window, the centre a 6-pane sash, under pointed arch set
in high gable. To right 2-light timber mullion window with 2-pane sashes
and a tripartite window, the centre a 12-pane sash, in half-hipped roof
dormer. Ridge, rear and side stacks have cogged bands. Interior retains
several original features. Library has bookshelves and fireplace. Dining
room has oak fireplace, roll-moulded beams and panelled walls. Dogleg
staircase with chamfered plank balusters. Shutters to some windows.
6-panel doors. An early example of a
conscious Victorian return to an honest, unpretentious style of house
building which is not stylistic and is devoid of imitative flavour.
Conceived of as a group with St Paul's Church (qv) and Hensall Primary
School and with similar groups at Cowick and Pollington. N Pevsner,
Yorkshire, The West Riding, 1979, pp 262-631. P Thompson, William
Butterfield, 1971, pp 221, 308, 405 and 438.
Listing NGR: SE5824622561
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.