Description: Reighton Hall
Date Listed: 11 January 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 327016
OS Grid Reference: TA1350174971
OS Grid Coordinates: 513501, 474971
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1580, -0.2633
Explore more of the area around Reighton, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
TA 17 SW REIGHTON A165
(east side, off)
8/79 Reighton Hall
House. 1730-40; remodelled c.1810 for Sir William Strickland, probably by
Thomas Cundy. 2-storey, 6-bay front. Entrance bay breaks forward slightly
and contains a part-glazed and panelled door beneath a Doric bowed porch
with modillion cornice. 12-pane sashes throughout, with stone sills and
wedge lintels. Modillion eaves cornice. Rear: round-headed, radial glazed
staircase window to right of centre. Canted bay at end right is a C20
insertion. End and centre stacks. Interior: C19 doorcases, panelling and
ceiling moulding survive in ground floor main rooms and first floor room to
right. Three C18 chimney pieces by Henry Cheere reset in same rooms. Open-
string, geometrical staircase with stick balusters, shaped cheekpieces and
moulded, wreathed handrail. Sir W. Strickland was brother of Henry E.
Strickland who published Agriculture of the East Riding of Yorkshire in
1812. Hugh E. Strickland, geologist and naturalist was born here in 1811.
Listing NGR: TA1350174971
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.