Description: Thorpe Hall
Date Listed: 6 October 1969
English Heritage Building ID: 327707
OS Grid Reference: NZ9440504935
OS Grid Coordinates: 494405, 504935
Latitude/Longitude: 54.4311, -0.5462
Explore more of the area around Fylingdales, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
FYLINGDALES CHURCH LANE
(east side, off)
6.10.69 Thorpe Hall
House, 1680 dated over door, with extensions dated 1835 and 1844 in similar
style. Coursed, tooled sandstone, the later part more neatly tooled, with flush
quoins; rubble north-east bay. Welsh slate roofs; stone copings, and ridges on
older part; tile ridges on extensions; brick stacks on stone bases. Old house
rectangular plan of 2 parallel ranges; 1835 addition incorporates an earlier
building in another parallel range extended to south with south-east porch. The
1844 addition is a separate parallel east range linked to the porch. 2 storeys
and attics. Entrance front: 3 bays. Central 6-panel Tudor-headed door, upper
panels glazed in chamfered doorway with inscription FAVSYD AD 1680 and Farsyde
arms, possible recut. Flanking 3-light double-chamfered mullioned windows, with
leaded glazing on both floors. One-light window above door. Continuous drip
strings above both floors. Small central gable with double-chamfered slit.
This and end gables have stone copings and small gabled kneelers. Right return
2 gabled bays, the left slightly wider, with 3-and 2-light similar windows;
2-light attic windows. Projecting to right the 1835 gabled bay, dated in sunk
panel with Farsyde arms. Similar but 4-light windows. Right narrow porch bay
holds half-glazed door with flattened Tudor head, 3-light window above and gable
slit. Far right projecting similar 1844 wing. Left return of original house
similar to right return. Central stack on ridge linking the 2 ranges. Heraldic
glass in first-floor left window. To left a bay with axis at right-angles: 3
storeys, the lower 2 storeys possibly once an outbuilding, the top floor of late
C18 appearance; windows similar to 1835 part. Door on left return .
Deeply-recessed narrow linking bay has studded door under Farsyde and another
coats of arms. Far left 1844 range (dated over opening on rear elevation) has
C20 replaced stone-mullioned windows. Rear elevation openings mostly altered.
Interior has tasteful decoration of early C20 including much oak wainscoting,
some old but imported, some reproduction; and reproduction staircase. Lean-to
added on rear is not of special interest.
House of the North York Moors. RCHM 1987, p.37 and passim, Harrison & Hutton,
op. cit. pp. 113,235.
Listing NGR: NZ9440504935
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.