Description: Welburn Hall
Date Listed: 5 June 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 328453
OS Grid Reference: SE6818884649
OS Grid Coordinates: 468188, 484649
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2530, -0.9549
Explore more of the area around Welburn, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 68 SE WELBURN BACK LANE
(north-east side, off)
4/93 Welburn Hall
Country house, now school. 1890-1893, by Walter Brierley, for Miss E. Clarke;
incorporating east wing of c.1610, for Sir John Gibson; extended
1895, by Walter Brierley, for Mr. J. Shaw; partly rebuilt after a fire in
1932 by E. Priestley. C17 wing of dressed sandstone; remainder sandstone
ashlar; slate roof. C19 main range with crosswing to right; C17 crosswing
to left, with two parallel C19 ranges beyond. 2-storey and attic on
chamfered plinth; 3-storey porch; 2-storey extension ranges. Asymetrical.
Central projecting porch contains panelled double doors with carved
spandrels under segmental arch with grooved, splayed reveals. A moulded
string course runs across the front, stepped above the doorway. Similar
band at attic level below a plain, coped parapet. Irregular fenestration.
Mullion and transom windows throughout. C17 crosswing to left : Partly
rebuilt after 1931 fire. The 5-light mullion and transom lst-flour window
under a flat dripmould survives, together with a 4-light mullion and transon
window to left. Further similar windows survive over looking the court
enclosed by the C19 extension ranges to left, and in the round floor of the
garden end of the wing. The gable end on the garden side contains original
2-storey canted and castellated bay with 12-light lst-floor mullion and double
transoms window. All C17 mullions and transoms are ovolo-moulded. A moulded
string course runs across the tops of windows on the green side, breaking
forward over carved brackets on each side of windows. A round-heated
doorway survives in the angle of the crosswing and the garden front with
moulded jambs, imposts, and a dropped keyblock carved with a mask and
leaves. Rest of garden front largely rebuilt to modified design after 1931
fire. Interior: reset C17 chimney piece in the entrance hall. Tudor-
arched fireplace in a carved surround of fluted pilasters on pedestals
strapwork - carved frieze and mantle shelf on leaf-carved brackets.
Overmantel of three equal panels surmounted by two horizontal bands, Bill of
strapwork, toppedd by a projecting cornice. Reference: Charles Carus,
Walter Brierley, unpublished thesis for the Institute of Advancd
Architectural Studies, University of York; 1973.
Listing NGR: SE6818884649
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.