Description: Church of St Martin
Date Listed: 10 October 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 329397
OS Grid Reference: SE8611075472
OS Grid Coordinates: 486110, 475472
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1678, -0.6825
Explore more of the area around Scampston, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SCAMPSTON TOWN STREET
SE 87 NE
4/57 Church of St Martin
Church. 1845. By G T Andrews for Col William St Quintin. Dressed sandstone
on plinth with limestone ashlar buttresses and dressings; slate roof. West
bellcote; 4-bay aisled nave and south porch; chancel and vestry. Square-
headed west window of 2 cusped lancets. Paired cusped lancets above, and
similar single lights at west end of both aisles. Gabled bellcote on plinth
has twin pointed arches on chamfered responds and octagonal centre shaft.
Crocket finial. Nave south side has dwarf angle buttreses. Gabled porch
has hollow-chamfered opening beneath roll-moulded, pointed arch on
colonettes with moulded capitals. Coved hoodmould on leaf stops and crocket
finial. Pointed south door on C-hinges. East of porch are 2 square-headed
windows of paired cusped lancets. 3 similar windows on north side and
central dwarf buttress. Chancel south side has pointed priest's door in
triple-chamfered opening. To west, pointed window of pointed cusped lights
beneath reticulated quatrefoil. Dwarf buttresses east of door and at east
angle. On north side is the vestry with pent roof and truncated stack.
Pointed east window of 3 lights with geometric tracery beneath coved
hoodmould on corbel heads. Vestry east window of paired lancets. All
windows have double-chamfered openings. All gables coped. Nave and chancel
gable crosses. Interior: north and south arcades of double-chamfered arches
on cylindrical columns with waterholding bases and moulded capitals.
Pointed chancel arch on half- octagonal responds with moulded capitals.
Trefoil-headed double sedilia in sanctuary south side. Finely carved rood
screen, stalls, altar, pulpit and prayer desk donated by William Herbert St
Quintin in 1906. Round-arched niche on side shafts in chancel north wall
contains a carved marble Deposition placed in memory of his Uncle, Rev
George Danby, by the same benefactor in 1906. Octagonal font with tall
crocketed cover. Memorial window in chancel south side is inscribed: "Good
Christian people of your faith pray for the good estate of Wm St Quintin
and Dame Louisa, his wife, who built this Church AD MDCCCXLV". Several
original windows bordered in pretty stained glass.
Listing NGR: SE8611075472
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.