Description: The Old Deanery
Date Listed: 27 May 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 330152
OS Grid Reference: SE3147671185
OS Grid Coordinates: 431476, 471185
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1356, -1.5197
There is also a scheduled monument, Ripon Minster Close, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Ripon, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 3171 RIPON MINSTER ROAD
1/2 (north side)
The Old Deanery
GV [formerly listed as The
Old Deanery Hotel
Mid-C17, altered in 1799 and early or mid C19. Limestone ashlar. Hipped stone slate
roof. Tall brown brick stacks. Two storeys and attics. Three-bay front, flanked by
2 gabled wings, gables with chamfered coping on cut stone kneelers. C19 mullion and
transom windows, mullions and embrasures chamfered. Wings have 2-storey canted bay
windows with strings and parapets. Central door with 4-centred arch and 2-light
fanlight, hoodmould with lozenge-shaped label stops. Small central gabled dormer with
achievement of royal arms and inscription "RDW Decanus 1799".
Rear also had projecting wings, thus making it originally an H-shaped house; but
(presumably in 1799) a 3-bay range was built in the centre, slightly breaking
forward. The sloping ground means that there is a semi-basement on this front, with
stone steps up to a balcony on the ground floor of the 1799 range, with an ornamental
cast iron balustrade. Cased sashes with glazing bars: central door with French
windows and fanlight with Gothick glazing bars.
Interior. Principal feature of C17 date is an extremely fine oak staircase occupying
most of the east wing: closed string, moulded tail, large vase-shaped balusters and
ball finials on newels. All the ground floor ceilings have C17 moulded plaster
cornices, including cornices to the joists; except for the 2 rooms in the 1799 range,
and for the hall which has dentilled and modillioned cornices (presumably of 1799
date) to its joists: presumably also of 1799 is the wooden hall fireplace with its
tall scrolled consoles, and possibly also the wainscotting, with 4-centred arched
doors to the staircase. The ceiling of the staircase is also C17, with a moulded
roundel in centre, and a frieze of stylised leaves. On the first floor the rooms in
the east wing (one of which has a chimneypiece of circa 1799) are unaltered, both with
simply moulded C17 plaster cornices: the centre was one large room exactly
corresponding to the hall below it, and although this has been divided by later
partitions the moulded plaster ceiling survives: the west wing had 3 rooms (as it does
now, though the partitions have been slightly moved), all with richer moulded cornices
than those in the east wing, and the south one with a moulded roundel in the centre.
North room has a diagonally placed fireplace of C18 date: south room some C17
panelling to dado level.
Listing NGR: SE3146971188
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.