Description: Deans Croft
Date Listed: 27 May 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 330212
OS Grid Reference: SE3156071317
OS Grid Coordinates: 431560, 471317
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1367, -1.5184
Explore more of the area around Ripon, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 3171 RIPON ST MARYGATE
1/8 (east side)
GV (Deans Croft) [formerly
listed as Police
Station (incl Cell
Block adjoining to
C17 with rear extension of 1816, designed by the 2nd Lord Grantham of Newby Hall
(subsequently Earl de Grey and first President of the RIBA). Formerly the House of
Correction, and, if purpose-built, dates from 1685 when the House of Correction was
established (see Ripon Millenary). Rendered, but built of alternating courses of
either brick or stone, and cobbles. Stone slate roof. Three storeys, with basement
at east end. Band over ground floor windows. Six bays: 2-light stone-mullioned
windows with recessed mullions of rectangular section. Oak door studded with iron
The second floor is entirely brick, and there is a straight joint at rear, thus
suggesting that the 2 eastern bays and the top floor may have been added; but if so,
the style of the original was closely adhered to, so the addition may either have been
made shortly after completing the original building or been a faithful facsimile of
In 1815 the magistrates ordered the building of an extension, but this must have been
the cell-block extension to rear, as the latter was built in 1816 (see Ripon
Millenary). Furthermore the spinal passage of the latter is aligned exactly on the
cross passage within the house which must date from after the building of the 2
eastern bays; so the cell-block extension is likely to post-date the latter.
Cell-block is built of brown brick. Wooden brackets to eaves. Two storeys. Four
iron-barred windows in plain stone surrounds on first floor. Three large iron-barred
windows in plain stone surrounds on ground floor. Inside it is brick-vaulted
throughout, with stone flagged floors. Iron balustrade to staircase, and very heavy
iron doors with original massive locks.
In the adjacent garden wall the street gate has a blind fanlight with royal arms
dateable to between 1801 and 1837, and a festoon of chains.
Subsequent history. The House of Correction was closed in 1878, and the building
became a grain store. In 1887 it was taken over by the newly-formed West Riding
Constabulary, and became a Police Station. In 1958 it became a private house; front
part restored in 1972.
Listing NGR: SE3156071317
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.