Description: The Grammar School
Date Listed: 19 November 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 330461
OS Grid Reference: SE3240177078
OS Grid Coordinates: 432401, 477078
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1885, -1.5050
Explore more of the area around Wath, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 37 NW WATH MAIN STREET
2/85 The Grammar School
House. C17 with mid-C18 and C19 alterations. Stone rubble, roughcast,
Westmorland slate roof, pantiles to rear. 2 storeys, 5 bays. Central
entrance with 6-panel door under rectangular 3-pane fanlight in wood
architrave. An inscription over front door, apparently a C20 copy of
the original, records that Peter Samwaies, Rector of Wath, founded a
school for boys in 1684. Door of same type on left. All windows
12-pane sashes in flush wood architraves. Ashlar coping and shaped
kneelers. End chimneys, with massive external stack on right side.
Rear: central 2-light stone mullion window to first floor and a single
storey outshut with Westmorland slate roof. Interior: the roof is
supported by 4 pairs of upper crucks.
Listing NGR: SE3240177078
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.