Description: Temple of Victory with Railed Enclosure
Date Listed: 15 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 330601
OS Grid Reference: SE4086258410
OS Grid Coordinates: 440862, 458410
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0201, -1.3778
Explore more of the area around Flaxby, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 45 NW FLAXBY ALLERTON PARK
3/22 Temple of Victory, with
railed enclosure (Previously listed
15.3.66 as The Temple at Allerton
Summer house or view point, with railed enclosure. 1790 for Colonel
Thornton. Ashlar, lead roof missing, wrought-iron balustrade and railings.
Octagonal, the main floor raised on a plinth containing basement rooms.
Basement storey: 3 sides have projecting round-arched doorways containing
4-panel doors with fanlights which support balconies. The door on the
north-east side opens into a privy. The doors on north-west and south-east
open into basement rooms. Ground floor: main entrance on south-west side,
reached by 2 curved flights of steps with plain iron balustrades. The
stairs are flanked by 6-pane central-pivot windows which light the basement
rooms. Doorway has sash window with glazing bars originally with hinged
wooden panels below, enabling the opening to be altered into a doorway;
shouldered architrave, consoles supporting triangular pediment, all in
projecting round-headed arch. Similar projecting arch on the north-east
side, but the window/door opens onto a balcony. Windows on north-west and
south-east sides have similar architraves and also open onto balconies. The
remaining 4 walls have round-arched recesses and rectangular plaques.
Projecting ashlar bands at balcony level, window sill and lintel level;
eaves cornice, plain parapet. Domed roof and 2 short corniced stacks behind
parapet on north-east side. Interior: principal room has small fireplace.
Basement divided into 2 rooms, with cooking range, fireplace and cupboards.
Railings: wrought-iron on ashlar plinth. Pointed bars and arrow-heads to
dog-bars. Gates on south-west and south-east sides. This building stands
close to the Al road and has been extensively vandalised. Much of the
original work is being destroyed.
Listing NGR: SE4086258410
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.