Description: Stables to North of Ribston Hall
Date Listed: 15 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 330606
OS Grid Reference: SE3915353884
OS Grid Coordinates: 439153, 453884
Latitude/Longitude: 53.9795, -1.4045
Explore more of the area around Great Ribston with Walshford, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 35 SE GREAT RIBSTON RIBSTON PARK
5/32 Stables to north of
Stables. Mid-late C18 with C19 restoration to interiors. Attributed to
John Carr for Sir Henry Goodricke. Red brick, English bond, with ashlar
dressings, Westmorland slate roof. Courtyard plan, with a free-standing
range on each side linked by a high wall. Entrance range, courtyard front:
2 storeys, 9 bays, central 3 bays breaking forward. Ashlar plinth. Central
round-arched passage to courtyard flanked by round-headed windows with
glazing bars above ventilator slits. The central window in the 3-bay blocks
is set in a round-arched recess. 6-pane sash windows to first floor. All
have brick sills. Projecting ashlar band at ground-floor impost level,
ashlar dentilled eaves and triangular pediment over central 3 bays
containing square stone plaque with coat of arms (a similar plaque on west
wall of chapel(q.v.)). Hipped roof. Central cupola, containing bell set on
square base with clock, has lead dome and weather vane. Single-storey
blocks at each end. Steps from courtyard to first-floor door in right
return. Interior: C19 stalls and loose boxes still in use. Hay lofts over.
A new clock was put into the clock tower in 1887. Courtyard, west range:
hay barn of 3 bays. Wide central double door with round arch, flanked by
round-arched recesses with ventilated openings. Ashlar band and eaves as
main range, the impost band continued as coping of side walls. Hipped roof.
North range: 2-storey, 3-bay carriage house flanked by single-storey, 3-bay
stables and tack room. Details as main range. Range to right contains
original C18 stalls. East-range: 2-storey, 4-bay;possibly cart shed with
accommodation over. 4 round-arched openings blocked and converted to house
mid C20. Central stack. Ashlar bands. Linking walls have buttresses at
intervals and on corners, with some ball finials surviving. H. Speight,
Nidderdale, 1894 p 191. Country Life, October 18th, 1973, p 1145.
Listing NGR: SE3915353884
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.