Description: Castle Mill Weaving Shed
Date Listed: 25 March 1983
English Heritage Building ID: 330880
OS Grid Reference: SE3476956807
OS Grid Coordinates: 434769, 456807
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0061, -1.4710
Explore more of the area around Knaresborough, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 3456 KNARESBOROUGH WATERSIDE
8/210 Castle Mill: weaving shed
(formerly listed as Block E
under Castle Mills
25.3.83 (consisting of blocks A to E))
Mill building. Early-mid C19. Coursed squared gritstone, Westmorland slate
roof. 2 storeys, 3 x 11 bays. North facade: C20 panelled door to bay 3.
Large windows with 63 and 49 panes to ground and first floors, containing
side-sliding sashes, Hipped roof. Left return: small-pane windows to
ground floor; 1st floor, left: iron loading doors with projecting pulley
rail over. 2 small-pane windows to right. Interior: stone floor to ground
floor; original timberwork throughout, with iron supports. The Castle Mill
was converted from cotton to flax spinning in 1811. In 1832-3 it was owned
by John Vipont and Company and was run by a 25 h.p. water driven mill. In
1835 Samuel Wilkinson had considerably extended his machinery and by 1836
there were 200 workers employed. In 1847 John Walton leased the mill and
installed a steam engine and power looms. He employed 423 workers in 1851.
B Jennings, Harrogate and Knaresborough. 1970.
Listing NGR: SE3476956807
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.