Description: Abbey Mill
Date Listed: 11 June 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 331039
OS Grid Reference: SE2725668193
OS Grid Coordinates: 427256, 468193
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1089, -1.5846
Explore more of the area around Lindrick with Studley Royal and Fountains, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 2768 LINDRICK WITH STUDLEY FOUNTAINS LANE
ROYAL AND FOUNTAINS (east side, off)
9/37 Abbey Mill
Watermill, now stores and workshops. Mid C12, remodelled late C12 and again
early C13; altered post 1539 and C19. Gritstone, stone slate roof. 3
storeys, 5 bays, with lower 2-storey, 2-bay addition to north. East side:
C12 round-arched doorway first floor left, later arched openings to ground
floor. Paired lancet windows first and second floors. 4 stepped
buttresses. Corniced ridge stack to right of bay 2. Rear (west side): 2
upper storeys above ground level. Far right: round chamfered arched
doorway; windows as east side. Attached brick wheelhouse bay 4, C19
machinery intact. Wooden cover and sluice gate bay 2. Left return:
external steps to narrow chamfered round-arched doorway first floor; paired
window to right. 2 square-headed windows ground floor, and one in gable.
Right return: square-headed doorway centre; blocked first-floor entrance.
Interior: C19 and C20 flooring. The mill was fed by a leat from the River
Skell near the west wall of the precinct which widened into a mill pond with
a dam against the west wall of the building. 2 waterwheels were in use,
serving 2 cornmills and later other processes. The north end, possibly
housing waterwheels, was demolished after the dissolution of Fountains Abbey
(qv) in 1539 and was replaced by the lower-roofed block. The mill continued
in use until the early C20. A Scheduled Ancient Monument. R Gilyard-Beer,
Fountains Abbey, 1977, p 75.
Listing NGR: SE2725868197
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.