Description: Rustic Bridge at South End of the Canal, with Culvert and Arch to Reservoir
Date Listed: 6 March 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 331086
OS Grid Reference: SE2802668569
OS Grid Coordinates: 428026, 468569
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1122, -1.5728
Explore more of the area around Lindrick with Studley Royal and Fountains, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 2868 LINDRICK WITH STUDLEY STUDLEY PARK
ROYAL AND FOUNTAINS
9/82 Rustic Bridge at south
end of The Canal, with
culvert and arch to
6.3.67 Reservoir (formerly listed
as Rustic Bridge)
Culvert between the Reservoir and the Canal, with north portal known as the
Rustic Bridge. Probably 1729-30 by Robert Doe for John Aislabie. Rough
dressed limestone rubble with tufa and ashlar. Rustic bridge: shallow
segmental arch flanked by smaller arched recesses and end piers of frosted
rustication. Tufa blocks form voussoirs to arch and recesses, and parapet.
The culvert: approximately 15 metres long, dog-legged and with segmental
arch at south end. This facade defined the southern limit of John Aislabies
original formal garden, as the ground rises to Tent Hill behind and there
was no access to Fountains Abbey (qv) until 1768. (Walker). The style is
similar to the Octagon Tower Tunnel, Mr Aislabie's Kitchen and the Grotto
(qv). A scheduled Ancient Monument. W T C Walker, personal communication.
Listing NGR: SE2802668569
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.