Description: MacKershaw Lodge on South Side of Studley Park
Date Listed: 6 March 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 331092
OS Grid Reference: SE2863968547
OS Grid Coordinates: 428639, 468547
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1120, -1.5634
Explore more of the area around Lindrick with Studley Royal and Fountains, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 2868 LINDRICK WITH STUDLEY STUDLEY PARK
ROYAL AND FOUNTAINS
9/88 Mackershaw Lodge on south
side of Studley Park (formerly
6.3.67 listed as Mackershaw Lodges)
Gateway with flanking lodges, now ruined. c1740 for John Aislabie.
Limestone rubble and ashlar. Archway flanked by projecting single-storey 2-
bay lodges. Round carriage arch with massive voussoirs and keystone (now
with farm gate) flanked by flat-arched pedestrian gateways, now blocked,
each with round-arched recess above. Modillioned eaves cornice, 3 bases for
statues above. Flanking lodges: each has Venetian window with impost band,
modillioned eaves cornice and pediment. Roofless. Originally entered from
inner side wall. The rear walls and interior partitions have been
demolished along with outbuildings to left (in limestone) and right (in
brick and limestone). The lodges were occupied until c1970. The gateway
was crowned by a central urn flanked by sphinxes similar to those at the
north-east outlet from the lake (qv), and probably those formerly flanking
the Drum Falls on the canal (qv) (in store at time of resurvey). The
building stands on high ground and was probably intended as a focal point
rather than an entrance to the park. The style is similar to the east gate
(qv). W T C Walker, personal communication.
Listing NGR: SE2863968547
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.