Description: Spring Hill School
Date Listed: 24 January 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 331093
OS Grid Reference: SE3031173066
OS Grid Coordinates: 430311, 473066
Latitude/Longitude: 54.1525, -1.5374
Explore more of the area around North Stainley with Sleningford, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 37 SW NORTH STAINLEY WITH A 6108
SLENINGFORD (west side, off)
6/89 Spring Hill School (formerly
listed as Episcopal Palace -
24.1.86 now part of Spring Hill School)
Former palace of the Bishops of Ripon, now school, with attached chapel.
Palace 1841, chapel completed 1847. Ashlar, Welsh slate roof. 2 storeys,
main range with 7 first-floor windows, recessed service block to right with
3 first-floor windows and enclosed yard to right; a covered passage with
doorway in north side links the service block to the 4-bay chapel which
projects at right-angles to the house. Palace in Jacobean style, chapel in
high Gothic. Main range: glazed door left in 2-storeyed porch with diagonal
buttresses, shields and heraldic beasts. 2- and 3-light round-headed
mullion windows with hood-moulds over. External stack to left of entrance.
Battlemented parapet interrupted by small gables with narrow attic windows.
Large evenly-spaced stacks. Rear: garden entrance in single-storey annexe
with cross-windows. Chapel: large 3-light mullion and transom windows with
Perpendicular tracery to east and south sides. Buttresses, gargoyles and
battlemented parapet. Interior: original doors, door surrounds, staircase
to palace; original chapel fittings survive, including elaborately-carved
screen and stalls. Stable block attached to north-west end of main range -
Listing NGR: SE3031173066
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.