Description: Low Hall
Date Listed: 23 April 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 331179
OS Grid Reference: SE1989161296
OS Grid Coordinates: 419891, 461296
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0473, -1.6977
Explore more of the area around Dacre, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
DACRE MAIN STREET
SE 16 SE (east side, off)
8/50 Low Hall
House. Dated 1635. Probably for Matthew Wood. Smoothly dressed gritstone,
graduated stone slate roof. 2 storeys with attic, 3 bays, with gables to
main facade. Plinth, continuous dripmould to ground and first floors.
Glazed double door between bays 2 and 3 in moulded chamfered surround with
shallow 4-centred arch. Datestone over: panels with inscription '1635 MW'
flanked by fan motif under roll moulding, the datestone flanked by labels
carved with flower heads. Windows, ground floor: mullioned and transomed of
4, 7 and 6 lights; first floor: similar but shorter of 4, 6 and 5 lights
with small light between bays 1 and 2 and a cross window between bays 2 and
3. Attic storey: paired round-headed lights under hoodmoulds. All windows
are recessed-chamfered; dripmould breaks forward above windows, with stepped
labels and labels embellished with leaf motif flanking entrance. Elaborate
shaped kneelers and gable coping carrying finials at apex of gables and
valleys between. Large stack in valley between bays 1 and 2; external stack
right. Rear: board door to right, 4-light mullion and transom window to
left of centre; mullion windows with hoodmoulds, some restored. Castellated
rainwater heads at valleys. Left return: 4-light and single-light windows
ground floor. 3-light and inserted single-light first-floor windows.
Plinth obscured by C20 terrace. Ground-floor dripmould returned from front
over single-light window. Right return: left: 2-light windows ground and
first floor. External stack stepped in at first floor, the steps supporting
stone gutters. Extensions built c1920 not of special interest. Interior:
not inspected at resurvey. Extensive alterations were made to the plan in
1920 including removal of staircase, kitchen fireplace and chimney. Other
fireplaces also moved, and C17 panelling imported. North Yorkshire and
Cleveland Vernacular Buildings Study Group Report Number 457 (1978).
Listing NGR: SE1989161296
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.