Description: Doughill Hall
Date Listed: 23 April 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 331190
OS Grid Reference: SE2042161474
OS Grid Coordinates: 420421, 461474
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0488, -1.6896
Explore more of the area around Hartwith cum Winsley, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
HARTWITH-CUM-WINSLEY B 6165
SE 26 SW (west side)
9/61 Dougill Hall
House. Dated 1722. For the Dougill family. Gritstone ashlar, graduated
stone slate roof. 3 storeys, 5 bays and 2 rooms deep with attached 2-
storey, 2-bay service block to rear. Central original 6-panel door, the top
2 panels glazed, in eared and shouldered architrave with lintel inscribed
and cornice. Cross windows to ground and first floor, most having one
casement; each with moulded architrave, pulvinated frieze and cornice. 2-
light mullion windows to top storey each with architrave and keyed lintel.
Deep moulded eaves cornice; blocking course with projecting panels to centre
and each end; ashlar coping to M-shaped roof; corniced end stacks. Single-
storey addition dated 1910 to right, not of special interest. Rear:
original door in moulded surround, left, now covered by extension; large
cross window lighting stairs centre; 3- and 4-light recessed-chamfered
mullion windows; shaped kneelers. To rear right and attached by covered
passage to the hall: possible former kitchen or service block, converted to
a flat c1980: central door, south side with large lintel inscribed
in rectangular surround with external triangles; door at first-floor level
in right return. Left return: central lead fall pipe with embossed bands
and reservoir embossed with 'I D 1722'. Interior: front right room formerly
entered from front door but now partitioned off: cross beam with cyma stops.
Principal room front left has excellent original pine panelling throughout,
composed of large fielded panels, fluted pilasters, moulded dado rail and
ceiling cornice, corner cupboard lined in wood having round-arched glazed
double doors retaining original glass, shutters with hinges and bars, and
panelled cross beam. Bolection-moulded stone surround to fireplace. Rear
room, left: plasterwork to ceiling cornice survives with elaborate moulding
carried over the cross beam which is decorated with 6 roses in relief.
Fireplace rebuilt c1970 using door lintel and surround from outbuilding
dated 'R 1612 D'. Rear room, right: kitchen, with wide fireplace arch of
joggled voussoirs; exposed ceiling timber work has a break in the joist line
which suggests former separate access to room above by a steep ladder or
stairs. Main staircase rear, centre, with fine original turned balusters.
Original tall 6-panel doors. See North Yorkshire and Cleveland Vernacular
Buildings Study Group Report No 203 (January 1976).
Listing NGR: SE2042161474
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.