Description: Low Snowden and Attached Outbuilding
Date Listed: 25 September 1981
English Heritage Building ID: 331401
OS Grid Reference: SE1803651693
OS Grid Coordinates: 418036, 451693
Latitude/Longitude: 53.9610, -1.7266
Explore more of the area around Askwith, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
ASKWITH SNOWDEN CARR ROAD
SE 15 SE
(east side, off)
6/8 Low Snowden and attached
25.9.81 (formerly listed as
Farmhouse north of Low
House and outbuildings. House dated 1683 with earlier traces, and late C19
roof restoration; outbuildings: late C18 - early C19. Coursed squared
gritstone, purple slates to house, graduated stone slates to outbuilding.
House: 2 storeys, 2 bays with rear outshut bay 2. Board door right with
" I R "
quoined jambs, roll-moulding to edges and large lintel inscribed: S .
Recessed chamfered mullion windows throughout, ground floor left of 4, now
2 lights and far left of 3 lights with 1 mullion removed, paired 9-pane
sashes inserted into both. Continuous moulded string course above. First
floor: 2-and 3-light windows. End stacks - banded to left, large corniced
to right. Rear: two 2-light windows to outshut. Interior: remains of an
earlier timber-framed building include 2 pairs of timber posts and a
bressumer beam over the fireplace which supports a large spine beam and
ceiling joists. The date 1683 records the cladding of the house in stone.
A fire in the late C19 destroyed the roof of reed thatch and the roof was
raised, in red brick at the rear. Outbuildings: 2 storeys, 2 bays with rear
extension bay 1 of 2 builds, on down hill slope. Left bay has doorway
with quoined jambs reduced to a window, and a square window with C20 frame
to left. Right bay: external steps to board door with tie-stone jambs, and
a byre door at the lower level, right, with tie-stone jambs; square pitching
door above. Right return: square mucking-out door centre, pitching door
above:, turned-back kneelers, gable copings. Rear: projecting half cellar
has 2 light flat-faced mullion window, the roof collapsed. North Yorkshire
and Cleveland Vernacular Buildings Study Group Report No 379 (1977).
Listing NGR: SE1803651693
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.