Description: Mulwith Farmhouse
Date Listed: 29 October 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 331783
OS Grid Reference: SE3639766717
OS Grid Coordinates: 436397, 466717
Latitude/Longitude: 54.0951, -1.4450
Explore more of the area around Newby with Mulwith, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 36 NE NEWBY WITH MULWITH MULWITH LANE
(west side, off)
2/26 Mulwith Farmhouse
House. Mid C18 with C19 and C20 alterations. Rendered, purple slates,
stone foundations. 2 storeys, 3 bays with rear outshut and wing. A 6-panel
door between bays 1 and 2; restored 16-pane windows in flush wood
architraves. End stacks. Interior: the door opens into a narrow hall-
passage with C18 moulded ceiling cornice and round arch. The central room
has a chamfered spine beam; the partition wall between central and third bay
removed in mid C20 and the fine built-in cupboards which formed part of the
walling were repositioned against the hall-passage wall. The cupboards have
a central double-door unit of 6 fielded panels, drawers beneath. The doors
cover curved display shelves and are flanked by further cupboard and drawer
units. Bay 3: a cyma stop to chamfered ceiling beam. A plaque over the
front door (erected c1980) records that Mary Ward was born at Mulwith in
1585. She founded a Roman Catholic order of nuns which she intended to be
the first active and unenclosed Order in the church's history. Her small
community visited Mulwith or Newby before settling at Heworth near York.
Fr H Aveling, "The Catholic Recusants of the W R Yorks", Proc Leeds Phil and
Lit Soc X Pt VI, Sep 1963, p 238.
Listing NGR: SE3639766717
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.