Description: Moat House
Date Listed: 20 October 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 332121
OS Grid Reference: SE5531155767
OS Grid Coordinates: 455311, 455767
Latitude/Longitude: 53.9950, -1.1578
Explore more of the area around Overton, North Yorkshire at Explore Britain.
SE 55 NE OVERTON OVERTON ROAD
(south side, off)
5/28 Moat House
Farmhouse. Mid-late C18 using earlier materials. Mottled pink-brown brick
in Flemish bond and limestone blocks brought to course with Welsh slate roof.
2-cell direct-entry plan with added rear range and wing to rear left. 2 storeys,
3 first-floor windows. Central 6-panel door and overlight in C20 corniced doorcase
flanked by C20 bow windows. C20 sashes with cement lintels above. End stacks.
Rear: rear range rendered has old board door with iron fittings in wood frame
to right of side-sliding sash with glazing bars. 16-pane sash above, to left,
and unequally-hung 9-pane sash to right. Roof hipped on right. Rear of wing
has large limestone blocks, tumbling-in and evidence of roof having been raised.
Right return of house: large limestone blocks, tumbling-in to gable. Left
return: tumbling-in to house gable. Wing lower and rendered with C20 windows.
Stack to left end. Single-storey bay added to left end has C20 door and windows
and pantile roof. Interior: partition walls of reused timber and wattle; chamfered
spine-beams on both floors; kitchen (back) door ledged and battened on large
'T' hinges; probably C17 oak-panelled doors with butterfly and H-shaped hinges
to rooms and cupboards on both floors and to cellar; dog-leg stair with splat
balusters, moulded hand-rail and newel. The date 1762 said by a former owner
to have been inscribed on chimney breast, but now covered (NYCVBSG Report).
Principal rafter roof of reused timbers (NYCVGSG Report). Room added to rear
of wing originally a forge (now part of house) and retains, inside, large flue.
On a moated site on which an earlier house, Old Hall, was rebuilt in 1406 but
demolished by 1736 (VCH, p 167). The stone and perhaps panelling, in the present
building was probably reused from the earlier house.
NYCVBSG Report No 514.
VCH II, pl67.
Listing NGR: SE5531155767
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.