Description: Outbuilding and Attached Bridge Approximately 30 Metres to South West of Yews Mill House
Date Listed: 1 April 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 335920
OS Grid Reference: SK5767488680
OS Grid Coordinates: 457674, 388680
Latitude/Longitude: 53.3918, -1.1342
Explore more of the area around Styrrup with Oldcotes, Nottinghamshire at Explore Britain.
8/45 Outbuilding and
approximately 30 metres
to south-west of
Yews Will House
Small water-powered mill and attached bridge. Probably early C19, bridge
dated 1806. Squared, coursed magnesian limestone, pantile and stone slate
roof. 2 storeys, 2 x 1 bays with attached 2-span bridge to south-east
corner. Mill: in Gothick style. 2 doorways with boarded doors beneath plain
lintels each with blind pointed-arched panel over and with window above
having Y-traceried 2-light casement in moulded, pointed-arched surround.
Gables have kneelers with crocketed pinnacles, copings and ball finial on
left. Rear: round-arch on right allowing water into wheel pit (now walled-
up). Left return: Y-traceried 2-light window beneath unglazed, pointed gable
light. Bridge: simple segmental arch with date inscribed an one voussoir to,
west, no parapet. East side of bridge has small round arch on right allowing
outflow from wheel pit. Comparable in style with Abbey house at Roche Abbey
(q.v.). No wheel pit or machinery survives.
Listing NGR: SK5767488680
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.