Rufford New Hall, Rufford
Description: Rufford New Hall
Date Listed: 2 December 1986
English Heritage Building ID: 357711
OS Grid Reference: SD4560716355
OS Grid Coordinates: 345607, 416355
Latitude/Longitude: 53.6409, -2.8242
Location: Rufford Park Lane, Rufford, Lancashire L40 1XE
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Rufford, Lancashire at Explore Britain.
RUFFORD HOLMESWOOD LANE
SD 41 NE
7/9 Rufford New Hall
Country house, now hospital. 1760 and 1798; enlarged, and altered. Brick,
formerly stuccoed but now roughcast, with low-pitched hipped slate roof
concealed by a low parapet. Now irregular plan with extensions to rear (north
west) of main block, which has a 5-bay facade to the south east and return
walls of 8 bays on the left and 6 bays on the right. Two storeys,
symmetrical; tetrastyle Ionic portico of unfluted columns protecting a wide
tripartite doorway with segmental fanlight (now glazed doors); sashed windows
with 15 panes at ground floor, 12 panes above, but those to the left mostly
altered or obscured by a fire escape leading down to the left from the second
window and enclosed in translucent corrugated sheet. Left return wall
entirely covered by modern 2-storey verandah with glazed outer screen. Right
return wall of 6 bays like the front but with extended hexastyle Ionic portico
covering 4 bays. At the rear corner of the left return wall an attached
service wing has an Ionic colonnade now with glazed screening on its inner
side, and this colonnade carries through to the interior where it becomes an
Ionic screen distyle in antis at the lower end of the rear of 2 interconnected
rooms on this side (ballroom and ante-room): this room has a modillioned
cornice, and original double doors to the front room, which has a moulded
plaster cornice and simple oval and circular ceiling moulding; otherwise, the
only feature of interest is the former entrance hall, a spacious rectangle
lighted by a domed oval skylight, which has a flying stone staircase and
landing on 3 sides, with wrought iron balusters. History: built by Sir Robert
Hesketh and an enlarged by his grandson, 1798-9, at which date the Hesketh
family abandoned Rufford Old Hall as a residence.
Listing NGR: SD4560716355
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.