Church of St Mary the Less, Thetford
Description: Church of St Mary the Less
Date Listed: 3 April 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 384692
OS Grid Reference: TL8678982822
OS Grid Coordinates: 586789, 282822
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4115, 0.7449
Location: Bury Road, Thetford, Norfolk IP24 3DD
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Thetford, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TL8682 BURY ROAD
617-1/7/31 (North West side)
03/04/51 Church of St Mary the Less
(Formerly Listed as:
(North West side)
Church of St Mary)
Parish church. C11 foundation, fabric mainly late C14. West
tower rebuilt C15 (donations 1427-1451). Chancel rebuilt C19.
Flint, re-used ashlar and clunch with ashlar dressings.
Chancel in gault brick. Slate roofs. Nave, north aisle and
3-stage west tower with flushwork plinth and stepped diagonal
buttresses. 4-centred west doorway, the arches moulded. Above
is a C19 three-light Perpendicular window. String courses
between floors. 2-light cusped belfry windows north and south
below crenellated parapet. Gabled south porch with multiple
roll-moulded arch. South nave with stepped side buttresses and
three 2-light C19 windows. North nave aisle lit through two
2-light and one 3-light Y-tracery windows, also C19. Gabled
nave and chancel roofs. Chancel south with two 2-light C19
INTERIOR: inner south doorway with C19 mouldings. C16 porch
roof with rafters and purlins. Canopied statuary niche over
door. Wave-moulded tower arch. C19 tower screen. C12 north
doorway within later aisle: one order of shafts rising to
cushion capitals with a roll-moulded arch. 2-bay north arcade
of polygonal piers with circular east-west responds and
stilted arches. C19 nave roof with hammerbeams on arched
braces. Wave-moulded chancel arch. North chancel chapel with
stilted double-chamfered arch to chancel. No capitals.
Single-chamfered arch to north nave aisle. Boarded chancel
roof of 1891.
C19 font. South nave aisle with an exploded tomb-chest
embedded in wall to Sir Richard Fulmerston, 1567. Over north
doorway a second inscription to Sir Richard, 1566.
(The Buildings of England: Pevsner N: North-west and South
Norfolk: Harmondsworth: 1962-: 341).
Listing NGR: TL8678982822
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.