Church of St Mary, Hastingleigh
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 16 February 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 408375
OS Grid Reference: TR1019744495
OS Grid Coordinates: 610197, 144495
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1611, 1.0048
Location: Hastingleigh, Kent TN25 5HN
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Hastingleigh, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 14 SW HASTINGLEIGH
5/69 Church of St. Mary
Parish Church. CII, C13 chancel and tower, C14 south aisle and porch.
Chancel, nave with south aisle, south west tower and western porch.
Flint, the upper stages of the tower rebuilt in red brick, with plain
tiled roof. Roll moulded west door with hollow moulded hood set in
C14 timber porch on flint base, with cusped bargeboard. Crown post
roof and benches within porch. Massive offset buttresses to north
nave. Heavily restored outer jambs of Chancel lancets and decorated
style nave windows (downpipe hopper dated 1879). Exposed jambs of
possible Anglo-Saxon north door, with C12 blocked round headed doorway
set within. Interior: 2 bay south arcade on octagonal piers, with
double chamfered arches, westernmost respond later in character. Identical
chancel arch. Jambs of tall, possibly Anglo-Saxon north door. Roof
of 3 crown posts. C13 double chamfered arch to south west tower, with
identical arch to south aisle (the arcade therefore a later rebuild
of original C13 aisle openings). Roof of 2 crown posts and brackets.
Chancel with 2 light ogee headed south-western window, otherwise 4
closely packed and uneven lancets to each of north and south walls,
with string course. Triple lancet east window with string course.
Roof of 4 crown posts, with extra moulded tie beam. Fittings: simple
trefoiled and deeply chamfered piscina in chancel, and aumbreys in
south and north walls. Turned baluster altar rail c. 1700, and contemporary
panelled pulpit. Some late medieval/C17 panelling reused in dividing
screens in church after 1879 removal of box pews., C15 rood screen,
with 5 bays with depressed ogee arch and 6 traceriedlights over in each
flanking bay. Simple arched piscina to south aisle. Wall paintings
in nave (within a round headed niche) and aisle (The Annunciation).
C13 grisaille glass, a complete lancet in the chancel north wall, and
2 C16 armorial windows in the south wall. Brass in nave floor, John
Halke, d, 1604, and Anne his wife (d. 1596). Simple inscription set
in marble slab with a detached hawk over (Grandparents of Dr. William
Harvey, the discoverer of circulation of blood). See B.O.E. Kent II,
1983, 346; church guide).
Listing NGR: TR0929244733
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.