Church of St Mary, Sevington
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 27 November 1957
English Heritage Building ID: 409326
OS Grid Reference: TR0370540875
OS Grid Coordinates: 603705, 140875
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1309, 0.9101
Location: Church Road, Sevington, Kent TN24 0TP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Sevington, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 04 SW MERSHAM SEVINGTON
3/144 Church of St.
27.11.57 Mary (formerly listed under
the parish of Sevington)
Parish church. C12, extended C13 and C14, restored 1877 and 1936.
Ragstone with plain tiled roof, with timber framed porch and shingled
spire. Chancel and south chapel, nave and south aisle with south porch,
western tower. Two stage tower with double offset corner buttresses.
Broach spire. Lancet west window and belfry openings and restored
hollow chamfered and roll moulded west doorway. Nave and aisle with
single catslide roof, with lancet windows and C15 label headed Perpendi-
cular windows to north nave. C16 coupled lancet windows to south
chapel, with separate gabled roof. Lancets to chancel (chancel eastern
bay extended eastwards note lack of galleting). Simple timber south
porch with wave-chamfered south door with stoup (or earlier C12 opening).
Interior: double chamfered C14 tower arch on half-octagonal responds
with crude head capitals. Simple pointed western and round-headed
eastern openings to south aisle. Trussed rafter and tie-beam nave
roof and lean-to aisle roof Chancel stepped in, with blocked round-
headed, window to south-west, with low double hollow chamfered arch
to southern chapel. Eastern lancets originally with shafts (the
capitals survive). Clasped purlin roof with moulded tie-beams.
South chapel with door and steps to rood loft (the loft fbor falling
into nave). Fittings: simple chamfered sedile and triple chamfered
piscina in chancel and simple piscina in chapel. Tomb recess in south
chapel, and recess in north nave wall. Octagonal font on 5 piers with
C19 cover. C19 altar rails, pulpit and reading desk. Stained glass:
C14 fragments in nave north-west window. Monuments: simple white and
black aedicule in chapel to Lawrence Banks, d.1830, signed Andrews,
Ashford. Lugged charity board in tower dated 1774. Royal Arms, early
C19, in nave. (See B.O.E. Went I 1983, 519).
Listing NGR: TR0476039251
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.