Description: The Parish Church of St Mary (Including the Frewen Mausoleum)
Date Listed: 3 August 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 411126
OS Grid Reference: TQ8300824517
OS Grid Coordinates: 583008, 124517
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9910, 0.6063
Explore more of the area around Northiam, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 8224-8324 NORTHIAM CHURCH LANE
47/47 The Parish Church of
St Mary (including the
(formerly listed as Church
3.8.61 of St Mary)
Chancel with north and south chapels, north transept, originally the Frewen
mausoleum, nave with aisles and west tower and spire. The base of the tower is
Norman, the portion above C13 with C15 stone spire. Nave C14. East end rebuilt
in 1835-8. The Frewen mausoleum, which originally had no communication with the
church, was built by Sydney Smirke for Thomas Frewen Turner of Brickwall in 1846.
It was converted into a chapel or north transept in 1978.
Listing NGR: TQ8300824517
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.