Plumpton Place, Plumpton
Description: Plumpton Place
Date Listed: 17 March 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 415738
OS Grid Reference: TQ3604513453
OS Grid Coordinates: 536045, 113453
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9045, -0.0665
Location: B2116, Plumpton, East Sussex BN7 3AF
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Plumpton, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 31 SE 9/210 17.3.52.
Built by John Mascall in 1568, with some alterations or additions in the C17.
Then, after being reduced to the status of cottages in the C18 and C19 it
was restored and adapted in 1928 by Sir Edwin Lutyens for Edward Hudson, the
first Editor of "Country Life". The house is surrounded by a moat on the north
and west sides and by one of 2 adjoining lakes on the east and west sides.
It is a timber-framed building, the timbering with plaster infilling being
exposed in the north wall. The main front, which is E-shaped, faces west and
is now ronted with flints with red brick window dressings and quoins. Tiled
roof. Two storeys and attic. Five windows, 3 gabled projections, the outer
ones containing attic windows. The centre one contains the porch with a 4-centred
brick doorway surmounted by a stone panel with the initials I.M. (John Mascall)
and the date 1568. Between the centre and each outer projection is a bay window
on ground and first floor with small blind gable over. Casement windows with
wooden mullions and transoms. Flint and brick chimney breast on the south
wall. L-wing behind to the east altered and enlarged by Lutyens but having
an old red brick chimney breast on its south wall. Leonard Mascall, a writer
of books on country pursuits in the time of Henry VIII, is said to have been
the first person to introduce carp into England from the Danube, keeping them
in the moat of Plumpton Place and also to have grown pippin apples here for
the first time in England.
Article in "Country Life" of 10 September 1932.
Listing NGR: TQ3604513453
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.