Manor House Farmhouses, Scrooby
Description: Manor House Farmhouses
Date Listed: 28 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 417777
OS Grid Reference: SK6541190936
OS Grid Coordinates: 465411, 390936
Latitude/Longitude: 53.4112, -1.0174
Location: Manor Road, Scrooby, Nottinghamshire DN10 6AH
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Scrooby, Nottinghamshire at Explore Britain.
SK 69 SE SCROOBY MANOR ROAD
1/124 Manor House
28.2.52 as Scrooby Manor House)
Pair of cottages, formerly farmhouse, formerly part of the moated
palace which was one of the principal seats of successive
Archbishops of York. C16 with C17 alterations, C18 additions and
C20 alterations. Red brick and ashlar 1/2 hipped concrete
pantile roof, 3 red brick stacks to the rear, dentillated eaves.
Set on a plinth with chamfered ashlar course over. 2 storeys, 7
bays. The 3 bays to the left are a later addition. The right
bay slightly projects and the outer angle is part chamfered on
the ground floor and chamfered above. Having from left to right
a single small fixed casement at the height of the door lintel,
doorway with C20 1/2 glazed door, single canted window bay,
single C20 casement, doorway with C20 1/2 glazed door, a single
recessed arch rising to the eaves, possibly where a gallery or
cross wing was inserted and now containing a single blocked
arched opening, and beyond a further blocked arched opening.
Above from left to right is a single C20 casement under a
segmental arch, a single C20 casement in a larger opening with
segmental arch, a single c20 casement breaking into a 2-light C16
ashlar opening, a single C16 2-light opening with ashlar mullion,
arched lights and flush ashlar quoin surround, and a single C20
casement. To the left of the blocked ashlar opening is evidence
of extension. To the rear are later C18 outshut extension.
Interior. Some ground floor rooms have moulded beams. In the
right ground floor room is a blocked arch. A building existed
c.1300, 1503 Margaret Tudor stayed at Scrooby Palace. In 1538
Leland described it as being built of timber except for the front
of the hall which was of brick. On July 4 1558 Nicholas Heath
Archbishop of York gave instructions for parts to be demolished,
these were the gate house, a building adjoining the hall, the
hall and a gallery leading from the hall to the chapel, the
pantry and kitchen. c.1637 most of the remaining buildings were
demolished, only leaving enough to provide a suitable farmhouse
for a tennant, this was repaired. This house is thought to have
been the residence of William Brewster, to the left of the right
doorway are 3 C20 plaques commemorating this and the sailing of
the Mayflower. H.M. and M. Dexter, The England and Holland of
(London 1906 and Baltimire 1978)
Listing NGR: SK6541190936
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.