Church of St Mary, Staveley-in-Cartmel
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 25 March 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 422155
OS Grid Reference: SD3793985934
OS Grid Coordinates: 337939, 485934
Latitude/Longitude: 54.2653, -2.9543
Location: Staveley-in-Cartmel, Cumbria LA12 8NH
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Staveley-in-Cartmel, Cumbria at Explore Britain.
SD 38 NE
Church of St Mary
Church. A church in existence 1618, repaired 1678 (plaque to east end), south
aisle and tower possibly 1793; restored 1897 by Austin and Paley. Stone rubble,
south side slate-hung, with slate roofs. Single vessel nave and chancel with
west tower and gabled south aisle and lean-to vestry to south of tower. Tower
has pointed entrance with continuous mouldings and straight-headed window of
2 cusped lights above, possibly C19. Bell stage has band under, and paired
round-headed bell openings in ashlar surrounds with louvres. Projecting
embattled parapet has simple crocketed pinnacles. Clock face to north; vestry
to south has casement window and roughcast to tower above, with lead
dripcourse. North side irregularly placed windows of 2 round-headed lights of
varying heights, that to east end has inscription: "EX DONO THO: PRESTON
AR/1678" to head. South side has similar 2-light windows, regularly placed.
East end has coped gables, chancel cross. Window of 2 ogee-headed lights to
north aisle; chancel has 3-light window with simple uncusped tracery based on
Gothic models. Plaque above records repair of church by W. Robinson and
T. Barwick in 1678. Interior has arcade of arch-braced timber posts. Nave roof
of arch braced collar trusses with turned kingposts and 2 tiers of wind braces;
aisle roof simpler, with arch braced collars; all C19. Double-chamfered tower
arch dying into jambs. Simple octagonal font; timber pulpit with rectangular
tracery panels, similar panels to stalls; altar rail with turned balusters, all
C19. Organ in east end of aisle. Copper plaque recording restoration of 1896-7
on south wall. Vestry has 2 ogee panels painted with head of crucified Christ
and 3 cherubs.
Listing NGR: SD3793985934
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.