Emmanuel Church, Bestwood St Albans
Description: Emmanuel Church
Date Listed: 27 April 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 425239
OS Grid Reference: SK5663046423
OS Grid Coordinates: 456630, 346423
Latitude/Longitude: 53.0121, -1.1574
Location: Church View Close, Bestwood St Albans, Nottinghamshire NG5 9QP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bestwood St Albans, Nottinghamshire at Explore Britain.
BESTWOOD ST. ALBANS WOODCHURCH ROAD
SK 54 NE
4/16 Emmanuel Church
Parish church. 1868. Designed by S. S. Teulon and paid for by
the 10th Duke of St. Albans. Rockfaced and plain ashlar with
gabled, hipped and conical slate roofs. C13 French Gothic style.
Ashlar dressings. Chamfered plinth and moulded sill band.
Windows are chamfered lancets with polychrome heads. West porch,
nave and apsidal chancel under continuous roof, pulpit turret,
south porch. West end has central porch with coped gable with
cross and slab roof. Moulded pointed opening with round shafts.
Interior has stone seat and 3 bay arcade with central memorial
panel to Sybil,Duchess of St. Albans, c.1873. Flanked by single
lancets. Vaulted roof. Beyond, single lancets. Above, central
round window, and above it, a trefoil. Above again, west gable
has shouldered gabled bell turret with cross. Nave, 4 bays, has
on each side 2 paired lancets flanked by single lancets. South
side has, to east, 2 buttresses. Chancel apse has 5 lancets and
finial cross. Vestry west gable has pointed door. To east,
double shouldered lancet. To west, pulpit turret with 3 lancets
and conical roof. South porch has 2 flanking buttresses and
chamfered doorway. Coped gable with dove in roundel. On each
side, 2 lancets. Interior has common rafter roof and chamfered
doorway. Aisleless nave has painted dado and window heads.
Scissor braced matchboarded roof. West end has central recess
-with 2 memorial windows. Above, marble portrait plaque and
memorial window, all to Sybil, Duchess of St. Albans, 1873. The
plaque is by H.R.H. Princess Louise. Chancel has arch on foliate
corbels. Arched organ opening to left. Blind arcaded dado,
1898, and moulded sill band. Ribbed domed apse. Stencilled
decoration throughout. 5 stained glass memorial windows to
designs by Sybil, Duchess of St. Albans, 1870, executed by Morris
& Co., 1911. Fittings include octaqonal ashlar font, pierced
matching pulpit and cross frame benches. Pierced stalls and
desks. Memorial lectern, 1885. Memorials include brass and
tile, Cl9. Bordered bronze War Memorial plaque, 1918. C20 brass
and wooden panel.
Listing NGR: SK5663046423
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.